Home » Manchester United dominate PFA Team of the Year awards

Manchester United dominate PFA Team of the Year awards

by Sam Peoples

pfa David de Gea, Rio Ferdinand, Michael Carrick and Robin van Persie have all been named in the PFA Team of the Year.

Both Tottenham Hotspur and Manchester City had two players nominated into the team but United dominated the team with four players.

The inclusion of de Gea is a sweet victory for the 22-year-old Spaniard after he has endured such criticism from the press since his arrival last summer and it is richly deserved as he has been superb for United this season.

As for Ferdinand, it is not a surprise to see him there at all. The 34-year-old veteran has arguably had his best season at United and has overcome his injury problems to show that he still has what it takes to cut it at the top of the game.

Carrick has finally got the recognition he deserves this year after what has been an outstanding campaign. He has made himself indispensable to United’s midfield and everybody in the team plays better when he is on the pitch.

Van Persie‘s name was probably the first on the list given the fact that his 25 goal haul has spearheaded United’s title this season. The Dutchman has been nothing short of incredible in his first year at the club and has a chance of picking up the Player of the Year award for the second year in a row as well.

Congratulations lads.

Here is the full PFA Team of the Year.

David de Gea

Pablo Zabaleta/Rio Ferdinand/Jan Vertonghen

Gareth Bale/Michael Carrick/Eden Hazard/Juan Mata

Robin van Persie/Luis Suarez

Latest Top Stories...