Van Persie and Ferguson short-listed for 2013 Ballon d’Or awards

by Sam Peoples

Robin van Persie and Sir Alex Ferguson have been short-listed for the 2013 Ballon d’Or Player and Coach of the Year awards.

The 30-year-old Dutchman deserves his place on the list after a fantastic 30 goal return for Manchester United spearheaded us to the Premier League title by an incredible 11 point margin in his first season with the club.

There was no place on the shortlist for any English players including Wayne Rooney after he had an indifferent season.

Ferguson’s inclusion on the short-list is just as deserved after he won his 13th and last English league title with United before he announced his retirement. He hasn’t won this award because it only started back in 2010 and I hope that FIFA are as sentimental with Ferguson as the BBC’s SPOTY was with Giggs but given that Jupp Heynckes won the treble with Bayern Munich, that seems unlikely.

Here are the lists in full:

Ballon d’Or shortlist: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid/Wales), Edinson Cavani (Paris St Germain/Uruguay), Radamel Falcao (Monaco/Colombia), Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris St Germain/Sweden), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona/Spain), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich/Germany), Robert Lewandowski (Borussia Dortmund/Poland), Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich/Germany), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/Germany), Neymar (Barcelona/Brazil), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal/Germany), Andrea Pirlo (Juventus/Italy), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich/France), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich/Netherlands), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich/Germany), Luis Suarez (Liverpool/Uruguay), Thiago Silva (Paris St Germain/Brazil), Yaya Toure (Manchester City/Ivory Coast), Robin van Persie (Manchester United/Netherlands), Xavi (Barcelona/Spain).

Coach of the year shortlist: Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid/ex-Paris St Germain), Rafael Benitez (Napoli/ex-Chelsea), Antonio Conte (Juventus), Vicente Del Bosque (Spain), Sir Alex Ferguson (ex-Manchester United), Jupp Heynckes (ex-Bayern Munich), Jurgen Klopp (Borussia Dortmund), Jose Mourinho (Chelsea/ex-Real Madrid), Luiz Felipe Scolari (Brazil), Arsene Wenger (Arsenal).

Latest Top Stories...