Home ยป David de Gea robbed of place in PFA Team of the Year

David de Gea robbed of place in PFA Team of the Year

by Sam Peoples

In a season of misery, David de Gea‘s consistently outstanding performances were a saving grace for Manchester United and he deserved to be named in the PFA Team of the Year.

However, Chelsea’s Petr Cech has instead been named the best goalkeeper in the Premier League.

Cech? How did the players figure that one out? The only thing that Cech’s season in numbers had over De Gea was in the clean sheets department.

Everywhere else, De Gea was statistically the best goalkeeper.


Statistics might not tell the full story for outfield players but for goalkeepers, they are quite accurate in judging their performances.

The most telling statistic is that De Gea had zero defensive errors that led to a goal in the Premier League. Zilch.

The only stain on his season was a fumble against Sunderland in the Capital One Cup which ultimately didn’t matter as Javier Hernandez equalised moments later before De Gea saved penalties in the shoot-out, only for the players to miss and lose.

It seems that Cech’s inclusion was warranted by his reputation more than anything because this season, there hasn’t been a goalkeeper who has received as many plaudits as De Gea other than potentially Cardiff’s David Marshall.

Here’s the team in full:

Petr Cech (Chelsea)

Luke Shaw (Southampton), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Seamus Coleman (Everton)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Y Toure (Manchester City), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton)

Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool)

How did Vincent Kompany get in ahead of John Terry?

De Gea was hands down the best keeper in the league this year and has been robbed but we all know Spanish Dave deserved it.

Latest Top Stories...