Home » Manchester United’s Under-18 Premier League fixtures released

Manchester United’s Under-18 Premier League fixtures released

by Tracey Germaine

Manchester United’s fixtures for the upcoming Barclays Under-18 Premier League have been officially released.

United will kick off their campaign against Bolton Wanderers at home on August 16 and will face rivals Liverpool and Manchester City away from home in their opening five fixtures.

Once again, the young Reds will play their home games at the AON Training Complex. Hopefully, there will be an improvement in the facilities this season with the issue of wind exposure having been identified early on by Louis Van Gaal as a matter to be resolved.

The wind has been a big problem at the academy for some time and fixing it is something which should result in less of a negative impact on the quality of football played particular in the winter months.

This season, the competition will feature 24 teams which will be split into two groups of 12 divided geographically. Manchester United will be joined in the North Group by Blackburn Rovers, Bolton Wanderers, Derby County, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester City, Middlesbrough, Newcastle United, Sunderland, Stoke City and Wolverhampton Wanderers.

The South Group is made up of Arsenal, Aston Villa, Brighton & Hove Albion, Chelsea, Fulham, Leicester City, Norwich City, Reading, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur, West Bromwich Albion and West Ham United.

Each team will play the other sides in their group both home and away. Following that, there will be a second phase where the top four teams from each group will form a mini-league to determine the final positions.

Latest Top Stories...