Confirmed starting XI: Manchester United vs San Jose Earthquakes

Confirmed starting XI: Manchester United vs San Jose Earthquakes

Manchester United’s Starting XI vs San Jose Earthquakes: Johnstone, Darmian, Jones, Blind, Shaw, Carrick, Schneiderlin, Young, Mata, Memphis, Rooney

Louis van Gaal confirmed at his pre-match press conference ahead of the San Jose Earthquakes game that Manchester United would have the same starting XI as the Club America match.

That means there will be two completely different XI’s starting in the first and second half and the only difference from the Club America game is that Sam Johnstone will play the full 90 minutes thanks to minor injuries to David de Gea and Anders Lindegaard.

Manchester United’s second half XI vs San Jose Earthquakes: Johnstone, McNair, Smalling, Evans, Blackett; Bastian, Herrera; Lingard, Pereira; Januzaj, Wilson

In the Club America game, Morgan Schneiderlin was United’s stand-out player in the first half while Andreas Pereira shone in the second. It will be interesting to see if they can replicate that level of performance once again.

Kick-off is on Wednesday 22 July at 4AM B.S.T. Live on MUTV.

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Google Plus
  • Share via Email


About The Author

Sam founded The Peoples Person back in 2011 after writing his university dissertation on The Munich Air Disaster. Since then, the website has been creating daily Man United content on everything from transfers and features to full match day coverage.