Louis van Gaal believes Dimitri Payet dived in an attempt to win a penalty in Manchester United’s 1-1 draw with West Ham United in the FA Cup on Sunday.
Payet, already on a yellow, took a tumble in the second half at Old Trafford, minutes before he fired in a free-kick to give West Ham the lead.
“I have seen the video, of course, and I think Schweinsteiger gets a push from a defender so he did not do it deliberately,” van Gaal said.
“Payet was, more or less, diving. Of course, he was maybe touched but not to fall like that. There is always discussion about the decisions of the referee. You can also say that about the game against Liverpool. I cannot say anything. I think the referee has to decide within seconds. I said that after the game against Liverpool and now it’s the same.”
Payet was incredibly lucky not to see red for the incident and he would have garnered much more controversy had West Ham gone through.
However, United wouldn’t have been able to square the blame squarely on the Frenchman. They were not good enough against West Ham and a similar performance in the replay at Upton Park will not see them through to the next round of the Cup.