Home ยป Ian Wright and Ray Wilkins choose David de Gea in their Team of the Year

Ian Wright and Ray Wilkins choose David de Gea in their Team of the Year

by Tanveer Arayan

BT Sport pundits Ian Wright and Ray Wilkins have both named Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea in their Premier League Teams of the Year.

The Spaniard has been in spectacular form for Man United this season and was also recently chosen in the PFA Team of the Year for the third time in his career.

De Gea has proven to be Man United’s saviour many times this season and his excellent performance against Everton in the FA Cup semi-final at Wembley, with a penalty stop to thwart Romelu Lukaku, reiterated his reputation as one of the world’s best goalkeepers.

He has managed to keep the hunt for top four on this season and it’s no surprise to see both Wright and Wilkins piling deserved praise on him.

De Gea came close to signing for Real Madrid last summer but Man United have been thankful their fax machine broke because it was the best bit of business we did. Keeping him at Old Trafford has been brilliant for the club.

Man United have been poor for large parts of the campaign but there is always hope with De Gea in goal. The Spaniard truly is world-class and it’s unsurprising to see his name included included in the Team of the Year.

Before long De Gea will be Spain’s No.1 goalkeeper replacing Iker Casillas and Vicente del Bosque would be making a terrible mistake if he didn’t use Dave at this summer’s Euro 2016.

Regardless of that, he’s United’s undisputed No.1 and is line to be named our Player for the Year for an unprecedented third year in succession. All hail Dave.

Latest Top Stories...