Home ยป Manchester United announce women’s squad for debut 2018-19 season

Manchester United announce women’s squad for debut 2018-19 season

by Alex Turk

Manchester United have impressed with the announcement of their first ever women’s squad ahead of the 2018-19 season.

The club will join the English women’s football hierarchy from next term onwards and have been placed in the second tier below the Women’s Super League.

Man United applied to form a women’s team in March, a request that was accepted by the FA before appointing Casey Stoney MBE as head coach shortly afterwards at the start of June.

It’s been in the dark for a month now, but the 2018-19 squad has finally been revealed and there are some fine stars in the mix.

England left-back Alex Greenwood will captain the side and is joined by fellow international Siobhan Chamberlain as part of the 21-woman squad.

Both players are regulars in the Lionesses’ team as they look to qualify for the 2019 Women’s World Cup in France and will now represent United at club level.

They also formally played for United’s sworn rivals Liverpool, along with Amy Turner, Martha Harris, Emily Ramsey who have all joined the club as well.

United’s youth players had to be released throughout the club’s 13-year absence from the women’s game, but now seven have returned including big name Katie Zelem, who guided Juventus to their first Women’s Serie A title last season.

Jessica Sigsworth has taken the no. 9 shirt after scoring 16 goals for Doncaster Rovers in the second tier last term, making her the division’s top goalscorer.

New assistant manager Willie Kirk will be reunited with Scotland internationals Kirsty Smith and Lizzie Arnot, who played under Kirk at Hibernian Ladies.

It’s an exciting time to be a United fan, especially if you’re into women’s football, and the new campaign couldn’t come quick enough.

Full squad:


1 – Siobhan Chamberlain
13 – Emily Ramsey
22 – Fran Bentley


2 – Martha Harris
3 – Alex Greenwood
4 – Amy Turner
12 – Naomi Hartley
15 – Lucy Roberts
20 – Kirsty Smith


6 – Aimee Palmer
8 – Mollie Green
10 – Katie Zelem
14 – Charlie Devlin
16 – Lauren James
17 – Lizzie Arnot
21 – Millie Turner


7 – Ella Toone
9 – Jess Sigsworth
11 – Leah Galton
18 – Kirsty Hanson
19 – Ebony Salmon

Latest Top Stories...